

ARTS & ENTERTAINMENT

Annual AONE Exhibition Opens At Silvermine Sept. 15
The show is now a national exhibition honoring emerging and established artists.

By Press Release Desk, News Partner, Aug 30, 2019 12:30 pm ET







Jeff Slomba

James Buxton

Russell Ritell

From the Silvermine Art Center: NEW CANAAN, CT, Aug. 30, 2019

—The 69th annual AONE, now a national exhibition honoring emerging and established artists, opens Sept. 15 at the Silvermine Galleries. Bill Carroll, Director of the Studio Program at The Elizabeth Foundation for the Arts, served as Juror. AONE spotlights contemporary trends and new explorations across various media. The opening reception on Sun., Sept. 15 from 2-4 pm is free and open to the public, and the exhibition will run through Oct. 18.

Silvermine Gallery Director Roger Mudre announced a significant change for 2019: "Established in 1949 as the New England Exhibition, a regional exhibit, it later became known as Art of the Northeast. This year it has once more transformed—to AONE, a national exhibition. It features a wide range of collectible contemporary artwork that is both vibrant and surprising." Throughout its history, Silvermine's signature exhibition has featured the work of many prominent artists including

Louise Nevelson, Elaine de Kooning, and Milton Avery, and jurors have included major critics, curators, and directors from influential art institutions.

Russell Ritell of Cold Spring, NY, is the recipient of the Board Chair Best in Show for "Gorgon," oil on canvas. The award includes a solo exhibition at Silvermine Galleries in 2021. Pamela Einarsen of Westport, CT, received the Patricia Warfield Jinishian Award for "Plunge," her archival c-print back-mounted to acrylic glass; Dionisio Cortes of New York, NY, won the Carole Eisner Award for Sculpture for "Trapeze for Ideas 1"; and James Buxton of Farmington, CT, received the Mollie and Albert Jacobson Award for Sculpture for "A Change is Gonna Come." The Jerry's Artarama Awards went to Sascha Mallon of Beacon, NY for "Edge to the Other Side," and Ingrid Scheibler of Newton Centre, MA, for "MayDay."

"Being invited to be the Juror for the 69th AONE exhibition is a great honor," said Bill Carroll. "I made my choices with the goal of a show that is balanced and well curated, with works that are in an interesting, and dynamic, dialogue with each other. There was a very wide range of mediums and approaches, and I made sure to include the best examples of each category: abstract painting, figurative painting, photography, drawing, printmaking, sculpture, collage, etc. I wanted the exhibition to be a cohesive survey of the current state of visual art making. Every artist in the show speaks with a clear, and uniquely individual, voice. The individual works in the exhibition, in every case, reward the viewer and demand a second look."

For over thirty years Bill Carroll has been involved in the New York art world in a variety of roles. He was the Director of the Charles Cowles Gallery, then in Soho; and the Elizabeth Harris Gallery in Chelsea. Bill also worked in the non-profit sector at the Dia Art Foundation, the Brooklyn Museum, and the Nancy Graves Foundation, and is presently the Director of the Studio Program of The Elizabeth Foundation for the Arts. As a curator of numerous exhibitions, he has worked with artists Donald Baechler, Mark Dion, Mary Heilmann, Alex Katz, Jonathan Lasker, Elizabeth Murray, Thomas Nozkowski, and Kara Walker, among others.

Exhibiting artists include Luciana Abait of Los Angeles, CA; Laura Ahola-Young of Pocatello, ID; Helmut Amann of New York, NY; Susan Bauer of Attleboro, MA; Linda Behar of Providence, RI; Miriam Bisceglia of Woodstock, NY; Daniel Bohman of Newington, CT; Lisa Brody of South Kent, CT; Janine Brown of Fairfield, CT; James Buxton of Farmington, CT; Jennifer Cadoff of New Rochelle, NY; Helen Cantrell of Old Lyme, CT; Robert Carley of Darien, CT; Jack Caserta of Fairfield, CT, Sharon Cavagnolo of Mt. Kisco, NY; Ann Chernow of Westport, CT; Eric Chiang of Westport, CT; Katherine Clarkson of Essex, CT; Marcia Cooper of Brooklyn, NY; Dionisio Cortes of New York, NY; Ron Crowcroft of Woodbury, CT; Lisa DeLoria Weinblatt of Bayside, NY; Loren Eiferman of Katonah, NY; Pamela Einarsen of Westport, CT; Carole Eisner of Weston, CT; Kevin Ford of Norwalk, CT: Donna Forma of Southport, CT: Leslie Giuliani of Weston, CT: Caroline Harman of Newtown, CT; Christopher Healey of Norwalk, CT; Ann Hodgdon-Cyr of West Hartford, CT; Richard Hughes of Sleepy Hollow, NY; Jana Ireijo of Westport, CT; Elizabeth Killgore of Stamford, CT; Natalie Kirk of North Salt Lake, UT; Michael Kozlowski of Trumbull, CT: Willard Lustenader of New Haven, CT: Sascha Mallon of Beacon, NY; Joshua Meillier of Burnsville, MN; Zahra Nazari of New York, NY; Jason Noushin of Hamden, CT; Julie O'Connor of Weston, CT; Leticia Ortega Cortes of New York, NY; Mary Parker of Yorktown Heights, NY; ReBeL, ReBeL of New Canaan; Tom Reilly of Norwalk, CT; Michele Riche of New York, NY; Russell Ritell of Cold Spring, NY; Audrey Ryan of New York, NY; Ingrid Scheibler of Newton Centre, MA; Matthew Shelley of Westport, CT; Marlene Siff of Westport, CT; Jeff Slomba of West Haven, CT; Debbie Smith of Westport, CT; Susan Stillman of White Plains, NY; Jenny Walker of Avon, CT; Patricia Weise of Winsted, CT; and Edward Zerdy of New Canaan, CT.